office of the bishop

Eastern north Dakota Synod Staff

  • Rev Tessa Moon Leiseth


    Email Bishop Tessa

    Bishop Tessa was elected August 16, 2020 to serve a six-year term as bishop of the Eastern North Dakota Synod and was installed as the synod's fifth bishop, and first female bishop, on October 31st, 2020.

  • Deacon Laura Carson

    Associate with the Bishop for Formation and Administration

    Email Deacon Laura

    Deacon Laura is responsible for candidacy, synod authorized ministry (SAMs), events (synod assembly and theological conference), synod council liaison, administration, and faith formation.

  • Rev Brad Skogen

    Associate with the Bishop for Congregational Leadership and Transition

    Pastor Brad's primary areas of focus include the call process (for congregations in transition and rostered ministers), conflict, and congregation constitutions.
  • Deacon Erin Power

    Director for Evangelical Mission

    Email Deacon Erin

    Deacon Erin works with new starts, congregation vitality, advocacy & justice, global church, area ministry strategies, mission support, holy closure/resurrection, and the coaching network.

  • Sharla Laugisch

    Administrative Assistant

    Email Sharla

    Sharla is your first point of contact with the synod office when you call or stop in the office. You can contact her to schedule an appointment with the Bishop or to be directed to the appropriate staff member in the office.

  • Alex benson-tuff

    Connections coordinator & First call theological education coordinator

    Email Alex

    Deacon Alex keeps us connected through online communications (E-Newsletter, Social Media) and event support, including Synod Assembly. She also coordinates the First Call Theological Education program. 

  • Marietta Wahl

    Finance manager

  • Rev Jon Olson


  • Deacon michelle walka

    COaching Network coordinator

  • REV Keith Pearson

    Regional Gift planner, ELCA Foundation